bunnyfish adventures


Donald Norman went to MIT too
November 20, 2008, 8:36 pm
Filed under: design, mini-adventures | Tags: , , , , , , , ,

don_normanReal quick before I head out to dinner, I went to Eindhoven today with Caroline (and ran into Sverre, Silje, and Gøril) to see a talk by Donald Norman. He wrote the books that are popular with designers such as “The Design of Everyday Things” and “Emotional Design: Why We Love (and Hate) Everyday Things.”

I brought my books for the train ride, in case I wanted to review them or ask him about anything in particular. don_norman(I ended up not.) Or if anyone else would want to read some of his books.  (My friends didn’t either.)  However, several people came up with the brilliant idea of having him sign my books.  (How novel!  No pun intended.)

Either way, I tried to keep it short but he noticed my American accent, I mentioned that they referred to his books in some courses at MIT, and he was like “Oh yeah, I went there too, I was Course 6.”

And actually, I knew that.  Dammit!  I had read that at one point and thought, “Oh cool,” but didn’t bother to remember it since I didn’t think I would actually ever meet him.

Regardless, he agreed to look suspicious in a picture with me, during which he said, “You seem like you should belong to the Media Lab,” and I think overall it was a win.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I like how he doesn’t look suspicious in the least in that photo.

Comment by Stephanie

Actually, he looks more sarcastic.

Comment by concon

Or if Stanford sinks its recruiting claws into you, their new D2 school, which seems to be looking the Media Lab squarely in the eye…

Comment by Lumberjack




Leave a Reply

