bunnyfish adventures


hamsterdam
February 2, 2009, 7:23 pm
Filed under: design, mini-adventures | Tags: , , , ,

hamsterdam

click above for pictures


Went to Amsterdam on Friday with Robin to look for maple syrup and at some random design stuff.  We went to the Van Gogh museum, walked around the markets, and visited some design shops like droog and Frozen Fountain.

I also got a Dutch comic book from Lambiek, that is according to their website, the oldest comic book shop in Europe.  It has a female protagonist, and a dinosaur on the cover.  Translated, it’s “Isabelle and the Monster.”  We’ll see if it’s any good motivation for me to learn to read Dutch.  The cover of another book of the series was pretty good, “De waanzinnige geleerde,” but I kind of wish I knew what was going on.

comic book I got from Lambiek

comic book I got from Lambiek


Now that I translated it, it kind of makes sense.  But I didn't have Google Translate in the store.

Okay, now that I translated it, it kind of makes sense. But I didn't have Google Translate in the store.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Okay, to save you the trouble, “de waanzinnige geleerde” = “the mad scientist.”

Comment by concon

What’s with “droog?” I see that written in quite a few of those pics.

Also, funny how you make the Netherlands look like a huge Ikea showroom :)

Comment by Lumberjack

I don’t think I’ve known droog long enough to give a good description, but it’s not quite a style of design… I just like the perspective some of their products have. (And it’s a lot of designers, not like one guy named Droog.)

And maybe just the things I take the most pictures of are … things. In showrooms. :P

Comment by concon




Leave a Reply

