bunnyfish adventures


who hate yeh?
February 21, 2009, 6:34 pm
Filed under: Dutch culture | Tags: , , ,

Dutch class is going better (I actually like it!  Except for the tests…), but I feel more confident in writing and reading than speaking.  My favorite lessons are the ones that involve food, since that was my main exposure to Dutch before I started taking class.

But sometimes I’m still immature and think little things are funny.  Audio clips are borrowed from the text.

Hoe heet jij? = What’s your name? (But is closer to “Cómo te llamas?” in that another way to ask in Dutch is “Wat is jouw naam?”)

donker = dark.  You can hear it in this example sentence that means “The days become shorter: it gets dark earlier.”
De dagen worden korter: het wordt vroeg donker

vaak = often.  The sentence below means “We ask these sorts of questions often.”
Dit soort vragen stellen we vaak.

verblijfsvergunning = residence permit.  It’s the longest word I’ve seen in the text.

Wat jammer = “What a pity”

And there’s no word for cereal.  It doesn’t really exist.

And my friend Daniël told me there’s no word for “race.”  They made up a verb “racen,” but before borrowing that from English, there was no way (or reason?) to have a word for competitively riding anything.  Just “snel rijden,” which is to “ride fast.”

That could explain why it’s so easy to pass people on the way to school.  But sometimes they’re more concerned with doing other things.

I know it shouldn't be surprising, but seeing people hold hands while biking is still kind of cute.

I know it shouldn't be surprising, but seeing people hold hands while biking is still kind of cute.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

