bunnyfish adventures


did you think I was dead?
November 1, 2009, 1:03 pm
Filed under: Dutch culture, school | Tags: , ,

Things are moving quite quickly these days, but I thought to share my instantaneous amusement.  As there are coincidental meetings and relationships between people, sometimes seemingly meaningless things in your life become prevalent by meeting each other.

Background #1: Last week, in order to make my trial cup of decaffeinated coffee more drinkable, I added some cocoa powder.  I bought it last year based off of the box art, because I couldn’t read anything in the grocery store anyway.

Background #2: My major project for the semester (IDP) involves re-designing the registration process so that it is smoother and the involved tools can be arranged to accommodate specific purposes.  Registration in the most general sense is the introduction or the prelude to something greater: an event, a membership, a service or experience.  Sometimes in registering you will have to register for other things, and you must wait for those to go through before moving on.

 

The Point: Mulling over this reminded me of recursive functions, when in the definition of such a function it calls on itself, and then it must wait until at some point, things are known and we can finish off the to-do list and move on.  Since it’s been some years since 6.001, I thought I would look up “iteration” and “recursion” before using these terms in our report.  The first thing I see under recursion is my cocoa powder.  It also ends up to be the name: the Droste effect.

So it ends up that my box of cocoa is kind of famous, and somewhat related to IDP.  Cool.


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

You forget tail recursion, which can be easily transformed into iterative looping instead, where you don’t have to wait.

You should make registration more like a hazing ritual, so the shared trauma will make the participants gel together as a cohesive team.

Comment by Lumberjack




Leave a comment